A new church for me

Ok, I’m not much of a church goer, but I may have found a little bit of religion. My wife has recently started to go to the local Episcopal church with the kids (which I’m ok with), but I don’t go except on holidays. Don’t get me wrong – I like the progressive viewpoint, the church is pretty, but church services don’t really do it for me.
There is one thing, however, which has helped nudge (and I do mean nudge) me in the direction of becoming a bit more of a churchgoer and that’s – well, beer. You see, the priest (I think that’s what they are called in the episcopal church) is a bit of a beer fan, and has started a beer club called the Franklin Society, after a well-known quote from Benjamin Franklin. Now, beer and churches have a long and mutually beneficial history, and this is arguably just a new chapter in a very old book. Nonetheless, it’s one I enjoy, and one which will hopefully lead to new and interesting posts in the future. Either way, it should broaden my beer horizons a bit, which is always a good thing.
Who knows, I may discover religion yet …

Leave a comment